I apologize in advance for the gross pictures.
This semester I decided to play flag football and soccer, because why not? Our apartment is known for getting hurt and I did have the thought of "if anything happens to me, I won't be able to finish my internship and graduate". But I've also been playing sports my whole life and never had anything happen to me. So I risked it.
Our second game was a rough one for me. First I got hit really hard in the eye with the ball. It wasn't bad, but I was afraid I lost my contact. When I opened my eye and still had it, I was good to keep playing. My eye started to burn and I was really concerned I would have a black eye. But that's kinda cool, right?
We have half time.
When we started back up, I somehow ended up on the ground. That's the only part of this accident I don't remember. Were we going for the ball? Was it my fault? The other dudes? Who knows... Here's what I do know:
I got hit in the mouth with another guys forehead. His name is Sergio. He was my home teacher last semester but didn't remember me. I went flying and ended up face down on the ground. I had an immediate headache and was sure I had a concussion. I remember shouting "I shouldn't keep playing". The lady in charge of the game then told me I couldn't keep playing because there was blood. So I lifter up my head and saw the puddle of blood. Great. I got up to get off the field. I just wanted to be tough and not need help, but as soon as I stood I was so dizzy and almost fell over. I sat down, had a report filled out, and got checked out for a concussion. I could remember everything and my pupils were fine, so it didn't appear I had a concussion.
The big question was whether or not to go to the hospital. People were telling me to go "just in case". Well let me tell you, I don't go to the doctor unless I'm dying or my mom says I need to go. I don't ever go "just in case" especially when a large bill is involved. So I texted my mom to ask what she thought.
Me; "What would happen if I had to go to the ER up here?'
Mom" "Why?"
Me: "Oh I'm just curious."
Mom: "Are you hurt? Call me."
So I sent her this nice selfie that I took then called her.
She told me to go to the ER. That's all I needed to hear. Maddy was there and she said she would take me. There was no way I could drive. But I was still concerned about my car. If I couldn't drive, who would take my car home? It's so funny the things that worry us during times like this. My friend Brett was there and he took my car home, so don't worry about a thing.
I had a pretty dumb nurse who was making me mad. But I also had a pretty great doctor who made up for it.
Oh and they wanted me to pay $250 right then just for me checking in. No thank you. You can bill the insurance.
So here I am, just waiting for the doctor. Maddy was really good at making sure I had this experience documented. Bless her soul.
So the doctor checked me out and said I definitely needed stitches. Good thing my mom told me to go in. The good thing is, none of my teeth were harmed which is surprising considering I got hit so hard. The doc asked if I wanted numbing cream or a shot. The creme would take about 45 minutes to kick in and the shot would be immediate. I'm not afraid of needles, so I chose the shot. I still think that was a big mistake. Doc told me I would feel a prick and then a burning sensation. He failed to tell me that he would be poking me 10 times. The shot is what made me cringe and cry. The shot is what caused the most pain during this whole experience.
He stitched me up. EIGHT stitches later and here's me and my fat lip. Bigger lips than Beyonce and I didn't even need Botox. My doc was nice enough to have Maddy take a picture for my mom. I wish I could've actually seen him stitching me up because that would've been cool, but oh well.
Here are some pictures from the next day. Yes I look high, but I promise I'm not. You can see my left eye (same side as the stitches) has a little discoloring. It would've been cool if I got more of a black eye, but oh well. I had a pretty sick looking lip. Luckily I only needed the stitches for a week. And it was only difficult and painful to eat for the first two days.
I had my roommate Katie take my stitches out. She's a nursing major so I figured that was better than having to go back to the ER and pay another $250. Plus it's good experience for her, right? My mom was worried, but I wasn't. She did a great job. And now I'm stitch free and afraid to play soccer anymore.